About Us

Formal transportation planning activities in the Jonesboro Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA) began in 2003. The Governor of the State of Arkansas, acting by and through the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department (AHTD), designated the Jonesboro Area Transportation Study (JATS) Policy Committee to be the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Jonesboro Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA).

The Jonesboro MPA encompasses more than 245 square miles. Currently, five political jurisdictions are included in the study area. These are the City of Bay, the City of Bono, the City of Brookland, the City of Jonesboro, and the Craighead County. On April 16, 2003, AHTD and these five politial jurisdictions signed an Agreement of Understanding to participate in a comprehensive, cooperative, and continuing transportation planning process pursuant to Titles 23 and 49 of the United States Code and corresponding regulations, and further agreed that other jurisdictions or agencies may be admitted to the Jonesboro MPO in the future.

The Jonesboro MPO is charged with a variety of duties related to transportation planning. The MPO is responsible for developing a Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), a Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), a Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP), and a Public Participation Plan (PPP). The MTP is a long range planning tool which forms the basis for selecting projects to be included in the short-range (four-year) TIP. The MTP and TIP are based on analyses of regional growth, public input, and dialogue with the planning partners in the region.
The two-committee organizational structure of the Jonesboro Metropolitan Planning Organizations consists of the Transportation Policy Committee and the Technical Advisory Committee. The Transportation Policy Committee is the policy making governing body and provides a forum for cooperative decision-making for the transportation planning process. The Technical Advisory Committee assists the Transportation Policy Committee in the decision making process.

The Transportation Study Director and MPO Staff is responsible to the MPO Transportation Policy Committee. A majority of the technical and administrative activities dealing with the conduct of the MPO are accomplished by the Transportation Study Director and MPO Staff. Technical support for the MPO activities is provided by the Planning and Research Division and District 10 of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department (AHTD) by virtue of representation on the Technical Advisory Committee and the Transportation Policy Committee.

The Jonesboro Economical Transportation Service (JET) provides transit service for a major portion of the City of Jonesboro. JET participates in the transportation planning process by representation on the Technical Advisory and the Transportation Policy Committees.